Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Team SA set to take on Australian Cross Country & Walks Championships

Friday, 28 July 2017 | Athletics South Australia



Team SA is set to soar at the Australian Cross Country and Winter Race Walking Championships held August 26th and 27th in the City of Wollongong.

Kembla Joggers excited to welcome the nation's best cross country runners to their purpose-built cross country facility, while the walkers will compete at Innovation Campus, University of North Wollongong.

Athletes aged under 14, under 16, under 18, under 20 and Open will compete over their respective distances as they challenge for individual and team success!

Team SA XC is headlined by our Open State Champions Max Stevens and Fleur Wellings after claiming the titles at the Long Course Cross Country earlier this month. Stevens is joined by training partners Jacob Cocks and Lachlan Scott, as well as a strong Adelaide Harriers trio in Rhys Jones, Adrian Potter and Michael Nitschke who will be seeking a Clubs Team victory. Wellings is joined by Caitlin Adams who ran to an impressive 5th placing at last years championship.

In the Junior ranks, Isaac Heyne will be looking to back up his 3000m Australian Title as he takes on the 6km distance in the U18 Mens. Siblings Bethany Cross (U18) and Joe Cross (U16) will have an enormous task at hand, competing in both the Cross Country and Winter Walks Australian Championships held on consecutive days.

Team SA - Cross Country

Full Name Event Event Category

Daniel Bourke 6km Course (U18) Male
Isaac Heyne 6km Course (U18) Male
Tamika Baynes 4km Course (U18) Female
Bethany Cross 4km Course (U18) Female
Brooke McGregor 4km Course (U18) Female
Margo Muir 4km Course (U18) Female
Hannah Elliott 4km Course (U16) Female
Joe Cross 4km Course (U16) Male
Adam Goddard 4km Course (U16) Male
Aidan Ross 4km Course (U16) Male
Ethan Schwerdt 4km Course (U16) Male
Molly Cook 3km Course (U14) Female
Noa Goddard 3km Course (U14) Female
Henry Braithwaite 3km Course (U14) Male
Caitlin Adams 10km Course (Open) Female
Fleur Wellings 10km Course (Open) Female
Jacob Cocks 10km Course (Open) Male
Rhys Jones 10km Course (Open) Male
Michael Nitschke 10km Course (Open) Male
Adrian Potter 10km Course (Open) Male
Lachlan Scott 10km Course (Open) Male
Max Stevens 10km Course (Open) Male

Team SA - Walks tbc.

For more details visit the Athletics Australia website:
2017 Australian Cross Country Championships
2017 Australian Winter Race Walking Championships

NOTE: Due to circumstances out of Athletics Australia's control, they are not partnering with School Sport Australia in the delivery of the 2017 School Sport Australia Cross Country Championships. This event will be held in Hobart (TAS) on 11-14 August.







Athletics South Australia
PO Box 84, Torrensville Plaza SA 5031
SA Athletics Stadium, 145 Railway Terrace Mile End, South Australia, 5031

P +61 08 8354 3477
F +61 08 8354 1219