Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

Six Athletics SA Members Selected for Rio Olympics

Thursday, 14 July 2016 | Athletics South Australia



Six Athletics SA members (4 athletes and 2 coaches) have been confirmed as part of the Australian Olympic team for the upcoming Rio Olympic Games. 

Selected athletes include reigning Olympic Gold Medallist and Athletics Team captain, Jared Tallent (20km and 50km walk), Commonwealth Games bronze medallist, Jessica Trengove (marathon), Tanya Holliday (20km walk), and nineteen year old pole vaulter, Kurtis Marschall. The team also includes Queensland based, South Australians Chelsea Jaensch (long jump), and Henry Frayne (long jump). Athletics SA is also represented by Olympic team coaches Adam Didyk (steeplechase, middle and long distance), and Claire Tallent (walks). Additionally, Didyk also coaches Madeline Hills (NSW) who has been selected in the 5000m and 3000m steeplechase.

Marschall will make his Olympic debut after posting the 5.70m qualifier two weeks ago whilst gearing up for the IAAF World Junior Championships later this month. Marschall's jump was the highest in the world by a junior in the last three years.

The 61 strong athletics team is as follows:

MEN (30):
100m: Josh Clarke (NSW)
200m: Alexander Hartmann (Qld)
800m: Peter Bol (Vic), Luke Mathews (Vic), Jeff Riseley (Vic)
1500m: Ryan Gregson (Vic), Luke Mathews (Vic)
5000m: Sam McEntee (Vic), Patrick Tiernan (Qld), Brett Robinson (Vic)
10,000m: David McNeill (Vic), Ben St Lawrence (NSW)
Marathon: Liam Adams (Vic), Michael Shelley (Qld), Scott Westcott (NSW)
20km walk: Dane Bird-Smith (Qld), Rhydian Cowley (Vic), Jared Tallent (SA)
50km walk: Chris Erickson (Vic), Jared Tallent (SA), Brendon Reading (ACT)
Long jump: Henry Frayne (Qld), Fabrice Lapierre (NSW)
High jump: Joel Baden (Vic), Brandon Starc (NSW)
Pole vault: Kurtis Marschall (SA)
Shot put: Damien Birkinhead (Vic)
Discus throw: Matthew Denny (Qld), Benn Harradine (Qld)
Javelin: Hamish Peacock (Tas), Joshua Robinson (Qld)
Decathlon: Cedric Dubler (Qld)

WOMEN (31):
100m: Melissa Breen (ACT)
200m: Ella Nelson (NSW)
400m: Morgan Mitchell (Vic), Anneliese Rubie (NSW)
800m: Selma Kajan (NSW)
1500m: Jenny Blundell (Vic), Zoe Buckman (Vic), Linden Hall (Vic)
5000m: Madeline Hills (NSW), Genevieve LaCaze (Vic), Eloise Wellings (NSW)
10,000m: Eloise Wellings (NSW)
100m hurdles: Michelle Jenneke (NSW)
400m hurdles: Lauren Wells (ACT)
3000m steeplechase: Madeline Hills (NSW), Genevieve LaCaze (Qld), Victoria Mitchell (NSW)
Marathon: Milly Clark (NSW), Jessica Trengove (SA), Lisa Weightman (Vic)
20km walk: Tanya Holliday (SA), Regan Lamble (Vic), Rachel Tallent (Vic)
Long jump: Chelsea Jaensch (Qld), Brooke Stratton (Vic)
High jump: Eleanor Patterson (Vic)
Pole vault: Alana Boyd (Qld)
Discus throw: Dani Samuels (NSW)
Javelin throw: Kim Mickle (WA), Kathryn Mitchell (Vic), Kelsey-Lee Roberts (ACT)
4x400m relay: Monica Brennan (Vic), Morgan Mitchell (Vic), Anneliese Rubie (NSW), Caitlin Sargent-Jones (Qld), Jessica Thornton (NSW), Lauren Wells (ACT)

Congratulations to all selected athletes and team coaches.







Athletics South Australia
PO Box 84, Torrensville Plaza SA 5031
SA Athletics Stadium, 145 Railway Terrace Mile End, South Australia, 5031

P +61 08 8354 3477
F +61 08 8354 1219